this week in books

This Week in Books: September 21-28, 2016

Welcome to This Week in Books, where I’ll keep you updated on what I’m currently reading!

Then: Girls & Sex: Navigating the Complicated New Landscape, by Peggy Orenstein; The Rise of Enlightened Sexism: How Pop Culture Took Us from Girl Power to Girls Gone Wild, by Susan J. Douglas

I picked up Girls & Sex on the advice of a colleague who suggested it. I can’t wait to talk with her about it. She said that anyone who works with teenagers (educators, social workers, parents) should read it. I’m in the elementary school, not the high school, but I gave it a go (and read Orenstein’s Cinderella Ate My Daughter, about the 3-12 crowd) and I’m looking forward to our discussion.

Girls & Sex is Peggy Orenstein’s expose on “the complicated new landscape” of teenage girls’ and young womens’ sexualities and sexual lives, from hook-up culture to “rainbow party” panics, and “no means no” to “yes means yes,” Orenstein explores what’s changed and what hasn’t for girls and young women today.

After Girls & Sex, I continued on the theme and read Susan J. Douglas’s Enlightened Sexism. There was some thematic overlap between the three; Douglas’s book focuses on the role of media and the battle between “embedded feminism,” that takes for granted the feminist accomplishments of the last 50+ years,  and “enlightened sexism,” which declares feminism so over, so we can go back to focusing on girly things like catfights and pleasing men, which is what women really want, right?

(Full review and reflection to come.)

Now: Not Your Sidekick, by C.B. Lee; Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, by J.K. Rowling

All of my library holds came in at onceof course. So I’ve got Prisoner of Azkaban to listen to at work, or at home while I crochet, and Not Your Sidekick for… basically all other times, ever. I can’t put it down. As I said on Twitter,

Not Your Sidekick is the story of Jessica Tran, daughter of Chinese and Vietnamese immigrants… who also happen to be C-rank superheroes. Her big sister manifested metaphysical powers, her little brother is a super-genius, and she’s a B student with no powers. Determined to do something with her life, Jess takes an internship in the Experimental Division of Monroe Industries working – oops? – for her parents’ villainous rivals, the Mischiefs.

Stop reading my review and put Not Your Sidekick on hold at your local library ASAP.

Next: Princess Princess Ever After, by Katie O’Neill

My roommate texted me this morning to let me know my book had been delivered and I was super excited!!, but then I got home and it was… not my book. (My friend got a DVD shipped to my place because so many Japanese companies won’t ship outside of the country. It’s no trouble, except when I think my comic is finally coming and it’s… not.)

This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found.

2 thoughts on “This Week in Books: September 21-28, 2016

Leave a Reply

