this week in books

This Week in Books: September 29-October 5

I stayed home sick today, so maybe this blog post isn’t up to snuff…

Then: Not Your Sidekick, by C.B. Lee; I Kill Giants, by Joe Kelly and J.M. Ken Nakamura; and Unicorn on a Roll, by Dana Simpson

First off, I had a great reading week this week. Not Your SidekickI Kill Giants, and Unicorn on a Roll, all within a few days? Good stuff. I definitely needed Unicorn on a Roll to calm down after I finished the brilliant, beautiful I Kill Giants. I won’t say too much now; spoilery review coming later.

Speaking of brilliant and beautiful: Where was Not Your Sidekick when I was a teenager? I can’t even imagine who I would be if this kind of queer-inclusive media existed when I needed it so bad back then that I didn’t even know I needed it. (My friend gave me a copy of Empress of the World, maybe trying to make me come out, but I didn’t get the hint.)

Full review of Not Your Sidekick to come when I’ve calmed down, but:

Now: The Golden Compass and Philosophy: God Bites the Dust, edited by Richard V. Greene; Holy Sh*t: A Brief History of Swearing, by Melissa Mohr; and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, by J.K. Rowling

After Not Your Sidekick, I figured I was heading for “book hangover” territory, and so I decided some nonfiction was safer for now. I love reading books about books, and my favorite books to read about are Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy. There’s just so much to explore. So I borrowed The Golden Compass and Philosophy from the Boston Public Library.

think the idea is that a casual, chatty tone will make philosophy more approachable for fans/non-philosophers, but it’s a little off-putting – and I am the queen of casual, chatty writing.

I was stuck at home sick today, so I decided to spend some time reading a (gasp!) print book. I don’t like hauling them around in my purse, but since I was here anyway, I picked up my nonfiction fave, Holy Sh*t: A Brief History of Swearing, which I first read last year and loved. I can’t help but read passages aloud to anyone else in the room while I’m reading.

… and I’m still listening to Prisoner of Azkaban at work.

Next: Among Others, by Jo Walton; The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman; Princess Princess Ever After, by Katie O’Neill

I grabbed Among Others on a whim. I’ve read it before, but that was a strange time in my life when I really, really needed the magic not to be real. (Maybe I’ll tell you that story sometime.) I’m curious to go back and reread it again now and see how I feel about it – especially that ending.

I put The Golden Compass audiobook on hold, figuring it would be a week or so before it came in and I’d have time to finish Prisoner of Azkaban. Whoops! I was wrong. It came back within a few hours. So I’ve got it out, and I guess it will give me something to do this weekend, because it’s supposed to rain again all weekend.

Finally, “Didn’t you have Princess Princess Ever After on your list last week?”
Yes, actually, I did, but my book still hasn’t arrived and there’s no tracking. Fingers crossed it comes in soon. I preordered this back when it was first announced in, what, May?

This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found.

Leave a Reply

