this week in books

This Week in Books: October 6-12

“Where were you on Monday?”
I was sick.

But I’m back for This Week in Books!

Then: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, by J.K. Rowling; Among Others, by Jo Walton; The Golden Compass and Philosophy: God Bites the Dust, edited by Richard V. Greene (dropped)

I finished listening to Prisoner of Azkaban with hours to spare before the due date. I usually listen to it at work while I’m shelving or processing books, but I had a chapter left on the Saturday morning it was due, so I sat in bed, crocheted, and listened.

There’s so much hope in the end of Prisoner of Azkaban. Harry’s hopeful, of course, about his newfound relationship with Sirius, but then there was the exuberance and impatience of waiting for Goblet of Fire. I couldn’t help but feel shivery and excited when Ron talked about his dad getting them Quidditch World Cup tickets.

Another reread, I finished Among Others. I’m still not sure about the ending. I’ll get back to you once I’ve had a chance to think about it.

Oh, and I dropped The Golden Compass and Philosophy. Usually that kind of thing is right up my alley, but it just wasn’t working for me.

Now: The Golden Compass, by Philip Pullman; Face Value: The Hidden Ways Beauty Shapes Women’s Lives, by Autumn Whitefield-Madrano

I wasn’t sure if I was ready to commit to listening to Goblet of Fire, one of my least favorite Harry Potter books, and Order of the Phoenix felt like a huuuuge time sink, so I jumped the tracks to The Golden Compass. I can only listen to audiobooks of books I’ve read before; the better I know them, the, well, better. I just get distracted sometimes.

Lyra’s voice annoyed me at first, but it’s grown on me. Mrs. Coulter’s voice is not what I expected.

The other book I’ve got going is another nonfiction book about girls and women, but it’s taking a “more nuanced” look at women and beauty, instead of just the “negative” ideas about women’s body image, advertising, etc. I’m not sure I like it; I find myself resisting a lot of what Whitefield-Madrano has to say.

Next: Brightwood, by Tania Unsworth

I can’t believe I didn’t know about Brightwood until today! It’s everything I’ve been looking for in a book; what’s magic and what’s mental illness has plagued me since I read The Magicians (and Among Others, actually) for reasons that deserve their own post. Let’s just say, I read a review of this and immediately knew I had to have it.

This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found.

Leave a Reply

