DNF'd

A Disappointment of DNFs: Grim

In her review of Mars One, Pamela asked what’s the collective noun for DNF’d books – you know, like a flock of sheep, a murder of crows, or a misbelief of painters. I suggested “a disappointment of DNFs,” and I’m sticking to it.

This won’t be a regular feature; I’m not here to make fun of books. I pick things up, they don’t work for me, and I put them down. A Disappointment of DNFs will be for books that I didn’t just not care for, but I actively disliked.

16115038Our first featured title is Grim, a collection of short story retellings edited by Christine Johnson.

Goodreads summary:

Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today.


Grim
is not the first Harlequin Teen book that hasn’t worked for me. Maybe because I’m not the audience for Harlequin’s main imprint, either?

Grim deserves the dubious honor of being the first book featured because it was so boring, so utterly forgettable, that I actually picked it up twice. I was halfway through the Blackbeard retelling before I was like “… wait, this sounds familiar.”

The Blackbeard retelling is pretty boring. Puss in Boots was… fine. Malinda Lo did a retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses that took place at a boarding school or a university dorm? but that’s all I remember. C’mon, how bad does it have to be for me to be like “there was a story by Malinda Lo and … I barely remember it ’cause the whole collection bored me to tears”?

Some of my favorite books in high school were fantasy (or SFF) short story collections, too: Firebirds: An Anthology of Original Fantasy and Science Fiction, and The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm. So I don’t think this is a genre thing, or a format thing.

Sorry, Grim. It’s not me. It’s you.

Leave a Reply

