this week in books

This Week in Books: October 20-26, 2016

It’s been a slow week in books. Nothing has really grabbed me.

THEN: (nothing, oops)

I haven’t finished reading anything since last week. I guess I can’t read at a breakneck pace forever. I’m having a hard time getting into anything.

NOW: Brightwood, by Tania Unsworth; Radical Self Love, by Gala Darling

I’m still reading Brightwood. It’s not what I hoped for, but I figure, I got this far, might as well keep going?

Since I was feeling a bit stuck, and I’m on vacation, I decided to go for something different: my beach/airport guilty pleasure genre, self help. I love a good/trashy self-help book, especially if it comes with some kind of “homework.” (Looking at The Artist’s Way.) Too bad this is flimsy and shallow and the homework involves zero actual worksheets. I wanted worksheets. I signed up for her Radical Self Love Companion and I never got it.

NEXT: ???

I’m just hoping I find something I can sink my teeth into, because this “not really excited about any of the books I’m reading” thing is pants, I tell you. I just keep reading articles I’ve saved to Pocket, which is usually a sign that the book(s) I’m reading is (are) boring.

I’m open to suggestions. Maybe one of these ten tips to get out of a reading slump will do the trick…

This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost & Found.

Leave a Reply

