this week in books

This Week in Books: April 23-29

This is This Week in Books, a weekly feature to let you know what I’ve been reading!

29467289Then
I dropped Unmentionable: The Victorian Lady’s Guide to Sex, Marriage, and Manners, because it wasn’t funny or informative. Expect a scathing review soon.

I’ve temporarily set aside my reread of The Magician’s Book: A Skeptic’s Adventures in Narnia, but I’ll get back to that as soon as I catch up on some of my library holds.

Now
I had one of those #bookwormproblem weeks when suddenly, everything I’ve put on hold over the last several months came  in… at once. So I’ve got The Girl with No Shadow and The Princess Diaries on audio; Come as You Are: The Surprising New Science that Will Transform Your Sex Life, Ireland: A Shot History, and The Gauntlet in ebook; and My Mixed-up Berry Blue Summer in print.3427448

Phew! I actually returned Ireland, and The Princess Diaries almost as soon as they came in, because I knew, realistically, I could never finish all of those books at the same time – especially the audiobooks – so I’d go to the back of the line and let someone else have them.

In a way, I’m grateful for the sudden glut: not only do I have several books to bounce between while I can’t focus, but it’s forced me to drop books that actually weren’t that good. If I’d picked up Unmentionable at any other time, I probably would’ve slogged through it for want of anything else.

Next
First, I’m gonna get through this mess of holds, and then I’ll get back to The Magician’s Book.

Plus, who knows? I’m always finding things to read that aren’t on my TBR, and never getting around to reading things I added ages ago. I like to live dangerously.

This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy at Lipsyy Lost & Found.

 

One thought on “This Week in Books: April 23-29

  1. Haha living dangerously is the way to go! I think I would have a meltdown with that many books to bounce between though. The Narnia book you mentioned sounds interesting though – I’m off to look it up – thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

