meme · this week in books

This Week in Books: April 30-May 6

This week is Golden Week in Japan, and I’ve got the whole week off from work. Sweet, right? Extra blogging time!

Nah. I’ll be at Dyke Weekend from today until Thursday – no WiFi – and then there’s Tokyo Rainbow Pride. (I’m running the Stonewall Japan booth on Sunday, so stop by and say “hi.”)

So I won’t have much time to blog, but I will have more time to read!

2227371Then
I haven’t quite finished last week’s books; I’m a slow reader, and there were a lot of them. I’m nearly finished with Come As You Are, and I’ve requested the The Girl with No Shadow audiobook for the third time (sigh) so hopefully I can finish that soon…

(I’ll admit, that makes these memes hard for me. There was a time when I finished a book (or more) every week, but now I have a full time job, my own apartment, I cook all of my work lunches, and there’s always Tokyo to explore… This “having a life” thing is great, but it does put a dint in my reading time.)

29346880Now
Like I said, I’m still working on everything from last week. The Gauntlet is due back in four days, and I haven’t even had a chance to start it yet. I’ll have to get on that real quick, especially if I want it ready to recommend for the local book award (nominations are due by May 8).

I’m going to pack a print book for my little Golden Week getaway, too; either My Mixed-Up Berry Blue Summer or Good Omens. Depends on how I feel when I pack… in about an hour.

Reading on my phone is so convenient, but it’s not quite as peaceful as sitting around, looking out at the mountains and drinking tea with a real, ink-and-paper book in my hand.

259055Next
First I’m gonna catch up with all this stuff. I shouldn’t even be thinking about what I want to read next.

… but lately I’ve been in the mood to reread either The Silmarillion and/or The Drawing of the Three (which is my favorite Dark Tower book).

This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy at Lipsyy Lost & Found.

Leave a comment